top of page
Pat Collins and Tadhg O'Sullivan — Silence/Sound

Silence / Sound is a collaboration between film-maker Pat Collins and sound designer Tadhg O’Sullivan that presents a unique sonic version of Collins’s 2012 feature film Silence.

The film tells the story of Eoghan, a sound recordist who is returning to Ireland for the first time in fifteen years. The reason for his return is a job: to record landscapes free from man-made sound. His quest takes him to remote terrain, away from towns and villages. Throughout his journey, he is drawn into a series of encounters and conversations which gradually divert his attention towards a more intangible silence, one that is bound up with the sounds of the life he had left behind.

Paring back what was already a sparse, meditative work, Silence / Sound is an immersive journey through the sonic geography of Eoghan’s route and into the sonic memories that emerge from it.


Featuring the voices of (in order of appearance)
Hilary O’Shaughnessy
Eoghan MacGiolla Bhríde
Pat O'Connor
Michael Harding
Tim Robinson
Peter Lacey
Marie Coyne
Paul Rodgers

Nellie Nic Giolla Bhríde
Eoghan MacGiolla Bhríde

Éamon Little

Chris Watson
Tadhg O'Sullivan
Guillaume Beauron

‘The Course of Life’ by Friedrich Hoelderlin
“And so I follow the arc of life...and return to my starting place”

‘The Breeze and I’ (English translation of Andalucia)
Performed by Nellie Nic Giolla Bhríde
Written by Ernesto Lecuona and Al Stillman
© Edward B. Marks Music Company
Used by kind permission of Carlin Music Corp.

Performed & Composed by Damian Valles
© Damian Valles

‘Amhrán na Leabhar’
Performed & composed by Seán Mac Erlaine
© Seán Mac Erlaine

‘1671 Milton Samson 1122 Add thy Spear, a Weavers beam,
and seven-times-folded shield’
Performed & composed by Akira Rabelais
© Akira Rabelais

‘A Pháidí, a Grá’
Trad. Performed by Eoghan Mac Giolla Bhríde

‘Is Trua nach Bhfuil mé in Éirinn’
Trad. Performed by Eoghan Mac Giolla Bhríde

‘Caves’ and ‘From Monday Afternoon’
Performed and Composed by Karl Burke
© Karl Burke

‘An Chúilfhionn’
Trad. Performed by Nellie Nic Giolla Bhríde

Total duration: 47'15''


Pat Collins and Tadhg O'Sullivan — Silence/Sound

SKU: fp055
  • First Edition of 500 copies. Hand numbered.

    Special foldout booklet printed on heavy uncoated board with full colour still images from the film.


    Prices incl. VAT.

  • Worldwide shipping. Orders are usually dispatched within 3 working days. Shipping price is calculated by weight and displayed at checkout. When buying multiple items, the weight is combined. Shipping by standard national and international mail service (An Post).

Related Releases