top of page
Various Artists - Aerial / Sparks

Farpoint Recordings are pleased to make available this special limited edition vinyl LP commemorating the Aerial/Sparks project.


Aerial/Sparks was developed and produced by artist Louise Manifold. Commissioned by Galway 2020 European Capital of Culture, the project took place over six years, culminating in Spring 2021. The core concept, utilising sound to explore and connect with our relationship to the ocean, included an artist residency programme on board the Marine Institute’s RV Celtic Explorer, a multi-venue exhibition on Inis Oírr, a collection of conversations as part of the Ars Electronica Festival 2020, and a radio broadcast.


The Aerial/Sparks LP features nine tracks by the participating artists and a printed essay by Megs Morley. It holds extracts of the artists' work, encapsulating the essence of their adventures at sea and on land. It invites listeners to connect with one of the last unknown spaces on earth: the ocean wilderness.


A 50-page digital PDF publication with contributions by artists and scientists, project documentation, and specially commissioned texts by Maeve Mulrennan and Megs Morley, is also available as a free download from


LP Track Listing:


Side A

01 - Ailís Ní Ríain East-West: Where Morning is the Sea - 5:00

02 - Kevin Barry Island Time: A monologue in nine chapters. - 6:55

03 - David Stalling Palace of Ships – Part 3: Storm - 7:12

04 - Kennedy Browne Manned-Unmanned - 4:07


Side B

01 - Robertina Šebjanič Selachophilia: Cetorhinus maximus - Limaria hians - 6:50

02 - Carol Anne Connolly Answering Echoes

i. Gollum Channel - 1:35

ii. Ghost Fishing - 0:49

iii. Rockall Basin - 1:04

iv. Tuskar Rock, Sediment Waves - 1:42

03 - Magz Hall Waves of Resistance (Radio art without borders)

/ Tonnta Friotaíochta (Ealaíne raidió gan teorainneacha) - 2:40

04 - Louise Manifold On the Ice Edge - 3:10

05 - Eoghan Ó Ceannabháin / Kennedy Browne Amhrán a Gligín - 3:00


Total duration 44:14




Aerial/Sparks by Louise Manifold was commissioned by Galway 2020 European Capital of Culture and took place in partnership with the Marine Institute Ireland, Commissioners of Irish Lights, Áras Éanna Arts Centre and Comhar Caomhán Teo, Inis Oírr.The project was supported by Arts Council ofIreland Project Awards 2017 and 2019.

Various Artists - Aerial / Sparks

  • Special limited edition blue vinyl 180 gram. Gatefold sleeve on heavy uncoated board with cover image by artist Carol Anne Connolly and inside panels containing full artist notes on the LP tracks. The blue coloured vinyl is housed in an innersleeve with an essay by project creator Louise Manifold. There is also an additional insert (printed on tracing paper) with Megs Morleys' personal response to experiencing Aerial/Sparks on Inis Oírr island, 26th September 2020.

  • Worldwide shipping. Orders are usually dispatched within 3 working days. Shipping price is calculated by weight and displayed at checkout. When buying multiple items, the weight is combined. Shipping by standard national and international mail service (An Post).

Related Releases